About ASEAN Bankers Association

The ASEAN Bankers Association was founded in 1976. From the original five members, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand, it became six when Negara Brunei Darussalam joined as a member in 1984. In 1995, Vietnam was admitted into ASEAN as the seventh member and in May 1999, Cambodia was admitted as the eighth member. In July 2001, Myanmar was admitted as the ninth member. In 2004, Lao Bankers' Association was admitted as the tenth member thus making the constituent membership of the Association complete.

Objectives of the Association are:

  • to raise the profile of ABA and the ASEAN banking community;
  • to strengthen the 'voice' of ASEAN in policy advocacy efforts globally or regionally;
  • to contribute to the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC), provide private sector support in alignment with AEC's goal;
  • to share banking 'know-how', provide education to promote best-in-class banking practices amongst members countries; and
  • to promote active collaboration of ASEAN banking institutions, foster friendship and cooperation amongst bankers.

The Association comprises Two Principal Organs:


ASEAN Banking Conference

The Conference meets biennially to draw out ideas to attain the objectives of the Association and to present the desirable ones to the Council for more detailed deliberation and subsequent implementation.

ASEAN Banking Council (ABC)

The Council, being the executive arm of the Association, meets annually to formulate policies and coordinate activities of the Association which are carried out and implemented through the various Committees.

The Three Permanent Committees:


News Releases

17 Sep 2018 - World’s First Cross-Border, Open-Architecture Platform to Improve Financial Inclusion (read article)

Permanent Secretariat

Mr Jose Teodoro K Limcaoco
Mr Paul Gwee Choon Guan


Banking Conference & Banking Council Meeting